Our finalists!

Teachers, Student Midwives, Activists, Scientists, Theatre Directors, Entrepreneurs and Employers from across Wales have all be shortlisted as finalists for this year’s Womenspire Awards ahead of the celebration on 21 June at Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff.

Chwarae Teg received over 300 nominations across the 12 categories recognising the extraordinary achievements many individuals and organisations have made in leading equality in their industry such as business, arts, sports, STEM, rural and education. 

Game Changer of the Year

Sarah Draper- Managing Director at Inspire Fitness

Helen Northmore – Manager at Team Wales Roller Derby

Sarah Jones – Chief Executive Officer at Welsh Netball

Leader of the Year

Nicola Carter – Chief Inspector at Dyfed Powys Police

Dr Phillipa Pearson Catchment Manager at Dwr Cymru Welsh Water

Rachel Munday Director and Head of Team at Dulas Ltd

Anne Marie Rogan – Chief Executive at YMCA Swansea

Man of the Year

Adam Barry at CGI

Leon Brown Volunteer for Pinkspiration

Paul Chaney Professor and Co-director of WISERD, Cardiff University

Woman in the Creative Industry

Yvonne Murphy – Freelance Director

Samantha Rosie – Executive Producer BBC Wales

Pauline Burt – Ffilm Cymru

Employer of the Year

Dwr Cymru Welsh Water

The Number Hub

University of South Wales

Woman in Business/ Enterprise

Rachel Miller – Founding Director, Avant

Gemma Richards – Director at SA Flyers

Sarah Wynne – Director, Wynne and Co.

Woman in Education

Siriol Burford- Safeguarding, Well-being and Healthy Relationships Consultant

Viv Buckley – Deputy Principal, Bridgend College

Joanne Thomas – Head of Specialist Resource Base, Pentrebane Primary School

Rising Star

Emma Yhnell – Health and Care Research Wales Fellow, Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute Cardiff University

Rebecca Hurn – Singer/ Songwriter, Music Teacher

Chelbie Jones – Higher Apprentice site management , Bouygues

STEM Pioneer

Dr Sophie Buchaillard – Associate Registrar Strategy, Cardiff University

Hilary Lappin-Scott – Swansea University

Wendy Sadler – Director/Lecturer, Science Made Simple/Cardiff University

Community Activist of the Year

Dawn Gullis – Project Officer, Cardiff People First

Geraldine Maddison – Youth Theme Manager, 3G’s Development Trust

Colette Watkins and Helen Buhaenko, Co-manager at the GFG

Learner of the Year

Sian Preddy – Student midwife

Emily Staples-Stubbs – Root Cause Analysis Manager, HSBC PLC

Mrs Alison White – Carer and Self-employed writer

Woman in Rural Economy

Meleri Davies – Prif Swyddog, Partneriaeth Ogwen

Jayne Hancock – Proprietor B&B

Emily Roberts – Project Administrator and Marketing Officer, Menai Science Park / Bangor University